Taxes, Deductions, and Your Job Hunt

Have you discovered that the federal tax code appears not to allow many, if any, deductions for the expenses of a  job search?  Laura Saunders decided to share information on this topic in The Wall Street Journal.  The article explains the dos and do nots of deducting your job search expenses from your federal taxes.  Unless you are very familiar with the tax code, the author hands over some very useful, and probably unfamiliar, ideas about what you can do to legitimately save yourself some money.  Take a look at “Write Off Your Job Hunt” by  clicking on the picture (above left), the article’s title, or here.  The piece was originally published in the WSJ’s Weekend Investor Section on September 24, 2011.

One of the many joys about working in a library is that you get to work with other librarians.  We tend to be a generous lot who like to share what we find. The article I am citing here is a case in point.  Knowing I do this blog, a  librarian in the Reference Department discovered and shared the above with me for you.

Good luck with your job hunt.

vea/4 October 2011
Newton Free Library
Newton, Mass.
http://www.newtonfreelibrary.net
http://jobsearchchatter.wordpress.com
Applying for Job LibGuide

2 Responses to Taxes, Deductions, and Your Job Hunt

  1. Emmett says:

    Hi I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you by
    mistake, while I was researching on Yahoo for something else,
    Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks
    a lot for a tremendous post and a all round exciting
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to
    read through it all at the minute but I have book-marked
    it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the excellent b.

  2. rcavezza says:

    Interesting – to be honest, the ability to deduct job search expenses never crossed my mind – i’m surprised you are able to deduct any expenses at all from your job hunt.

    Thanks for posting this – I probably never would have found this otherwise.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.